Day sleeper: Temporarily bypass chime/voice announcement

whodah

Hi all,

I've searched, but to no avail. I've found a lot of threads on using relays to control audio speakers for music, and I think I could get there based on that. But thought I'd ask in case I'm overlooking an easy solution as I'm still pretty new to the Elk world. Due do a day sleeper in the house, but on varying days, I'd like to be able to have a mechanism that I can flip a mechanical switch (or something) discreetly hidden in the garage and interior that will disable door chimes and "non-alarm voice" announcements when switched 'on'. When switched 'off', chimes and "non-alarm voice"'s become re-enabled. 

Thus, I can go in and out of the house "126 times while [they] are trying to sleep" without keeping them awake. :D :D

Any ideas on the simplest way to achieve this? I'm open to mechanical switches, buttons, rules, whatever. Just whatever makes sense to accomplish the task, ya know?

I did find the following hints:
  • Work2Play's post here in an old thread: {edit: oops, can't post links yet... topic number 19894 on this forum} "And with a relay on the speaker in the master bedroom, the wife can quiet everything while she's sleeping during the day so nobody bothers her." which sounds like it has a lot of potential too.
  • {edit: oops, can't post links yet...} on the elkproducts website, the disable_voice page.

Thanks!