1-Wire temperature alarm status notification

jurdim

Hy
I am completely new to this and with this i mean electronics (1-Wire) software and linux everthing so i absolutely dont know what i am talking about.
After a post about 1 wire temperature measuring on a dutch Koi forum i got interested in 1-wire and ordered 1 linksys NSLU at a local computer store, followed by 1 DS9490R USB connecter and some DS18S20-Par sensors

The guys at the Koi forum wrote a very good manual (in Dutch) on how to setup the NSLU and install the software needed Owfs, openssh, rrdtool and winscp with PuTTy.
Just by simply following there manual i got it all working and at this moment i am testing with 2 sensors measuring temperature in my livingroom.

Next step i wanted was a network using hubs to simply connect the sensors to kind of klik and go so after searching i found a German company that sells temperature sensors bases on the DS1820 sensor and they also have hubs to go with their system that is a litle diferent than 1-wire.
Again with the help of the Koi forum Guys i made an adaptor cable and connected the first hub and sensor to my ds9490r and it works fine so i added 2 more hubs and some more sensors and it still works fine.

next week i am going to finally instal the hubs and sensors in and around my Koi pond to measure outside, water in the pond and water in the filter temperature followed by sensors mounted on my pumps to keep track of their temperature.
the complete setup wil look like this
netwerk.gif

to connect the hubs i will use Cat6 utp cable over a maximum distance of 25 meters.

Now my big question; the ds18s20 sensors can be set with a temperature high and low limit and go in to alarm state when either one of these limits is passed.
Just by looking in to winscp i noticed that every time this hapens a new folder is created in the alarm folder named after the sensor that has gone in to alarm status.