120v outlet controlled by Elk directly for < $20

AceCannon

I know this has been done before, but I didn't see anything recent, and maybe this will help someone. .

Also, I am not an electrician, so I certainly am not recommending anyone attempt this.

Problem:
DirecTv's STB's have some sort of memory leak such that after 24-48hrs of using their USB ports for control (I am using CQC), they get so slow as to be unusable. I have been manually rebooting these boxen every day or so, but when I forget it is a PITA since they take 5-10 minutes to reboot. I can wait no longer for DirecTv to release a software update. X10 appliance modules did not work since my STB's are plugged into an industrial UPS that apparently filters X10 signals.

Solution:
The 1-gang box is not intended to be mounted behind drywall. I used it because it made a good enclosure and was cheap at Lowe's. The relay (SPDT) is connected such that the outlet is hot when the coil is not energized. (normally closed). Basically, I use one of the Elk relays to send 12v to the relay inside this box to switch the 120v hot wire (at 4AM daily for 10 seconds). The socket for the relay is excellent - the connections are all recessed, no bare wire or terminal screw is exposed anywhere, either HV or LV.

The relay came from a local radio / electronic place, $7 plus another $7 for the socket.

They say a picture is worth 1000 words, so I will stop typing:

CIMG3134.jpg

CIMG3135.jpg

CIMG3136.jpg

CIMG3137.jpg

CIMG3138.jpg

CIMG3141.jpg

CIMG3139.jpg

CIMG3140.jpg

CIMG3155.jpg

That's a nice solution. Another similar method that imho is a little cleaner wrt wiring is to just use a RIB. You would use a metal box and the RIB would snap into a knockout. The LV wires can loop out through another knockout and strain relief. I just like the RIBs because they are fully enclosed and read to go, just connect the wires. They also have an LED indicator for on/off status. I have several like this. Just another option...