Building a Modular Home - Need suggestions for Home Automation, Security, and Theater controller/sys

highvoltz

Hi all,
Hope its ok to post here, there was no section that covers all the above topics in one.

Building a modular home this spring. I'm looking for a good all-in-one solution, or solutions that work well together for Home Automation, Security, and Theater. I work in IT, and am an avid Mac fan. Macbook Pro / iPhone / iPad / apple TV, etc. In our apartment now, I use an apple TV with XMBC, connected to a dedicated mac mini server for sharing. I'd like to expand for our new modular, which will be a 2 story colonial. Since pre-wiring is not really an option for Modular, it makes it tough, as it's not a remodel. The home will be located on a remote dirt road, so security for the family is a must. Any recommendations would be appreciated!

All systems need to be controlled via iPhone, iPad, or via computer. I'd like to be able to monitor the house while at work, via iPhone, remote connection, text, email, etc.

As far as security, motion sensors, window sensors, glass break. I would like to know if the doors are in a locked state or open, alarmed, etc. I would also like ip cameras integrated, and if anyone were to come to the door, alert me remotely so I can check in.

With Home Automation, light control, appliance/device control, Thermostat, smoke detection, water detection, general HA activities

And with Home Theater, again I'd like control with iPhone/iPad, and be able to integrate something like XBMC, or airplay, with multi-room speakers for playing music, being able to watch a video from a fileserver at any tv in the house, etc.

Control4 seems to have the best iPhone/iPad integration. Was also contemplating about piecing a system together, possibly with insteon. There's an enormous amount of information out there, and I just don't know enough to make the best decisions. Modular systems would be best, so I can add as I grow and get more into it.