Dimmer Switches - What do I need?

Bzncrewjr

So I'm a total newb to this HA stuff.  I'm comfortable with wiring and programming.  It's the hardware I'm unsure of.

I bought an Omni Pro controller, PC Access for dealers (should be here next week).

What do I need to use dimmer switches?  The electrician is installing all switches and fixtures and I'd like to give him some dimmers to install for me.
We have some circuits with multiple switches.  3/4 way.

Can I mix switches/dimmers from different manufacturers/protocols?

Also:  Specs say it supports
Vizia RF Z-Wave
Does this mean ALL Z-Wave or just Vizia RF Z-Wave?

I know this is a can of worms, but if you had to do it again what protocol would you use?
UPB, Z-Wave.....?

--Russ

I'll answer in reverse of how you asked... with regard to your last question, do you plan to stick with lighting only, or do you want to utilize other devices as well (e.g. thermostat, deadbolts, etc)?

I went Zwave because it also allowed me to have both of the above, a communicating thermostat and deadbolt that both tied into my HA system. The only other single communicating system that you can get that from today is Zigbee and from what I've seen there is still not a lot of support there (e.g. limited manufacturers and devices, as well as HA system support). If I wanted to stay with lighting only, I'd certainly give UPB a run and see how I liked it. I am thinking about doing so in my next home and utilizing a thermostat that is able to be hard wired, and possibly an electronic door strike; typically not ideal for retrofit installations.