Fan speed control

InFlux

Does anyone know of automation products capable of controling the speed of ceiling fans? I have not settled on an automation technology yet, and this is one of my variables.

Having moved from the north to the south, I am now the owner of a home with 10 ceiling fans. Since a fan helps cool the person (water evaporation), but not the room, it saves some energy to turn fans on and off as needed and set back the A/C. While a light is used at night, a ceiling fan is used in both the day and the night, so that means a lot more switching. Minimally we can automate that switching... no problem there. The issue is the speed control, and divorcing the light from the fan's proprietary control so that it can be automated and dimmed too.

As an engineer I know the various ways that a person could control the speed of ceiling fans, but as a consumer I have no clue what products are available, and of the ones that I have found I do not find any specs that could tell what and how well the product does it. I would like to avoid anything that introduces hum into the fan motor, or involves series resistors. A number of the fans switch in different capacitors, which I view as a decent method. Several relay outputs and some surgery on the fan to acquire the capacitors could allow us to automate the speed control... albeit not cost effectively.