HAI Omnipro II better fit for UPB/Zwave?

mgabe

I am a new member on the forum, SW engineer by trade. I thought I'd ask the forum's help with some questions.

I have just bought my first house, and am planning to install alarm & home automation. I am in the middle of renovation. Preserving drywalls is not a major concern, and eventually the whole house will be repainted. That said, I would like to install all wires at this point, even though I will probably complete integration at a later point.

These forums were very useful for reading about protocols for controlling switches/lights. I have decided to go with either UPB or Zwave. Secondly, I have narrowed down the alarm system to either a HAI Omnipro II, or an Elk M1. I plan to set up the alarm system to use cell phone service and Ethernet as backup. Thus, if I go with Elk M1, M1XEP is a must. Eventually, I also plan to have the system monitored professionally.

Initially, I was planning to go with Elk M1, but after reading some more, it appears to me that it lends itself better to work with INSTEON, not UPB or Zwave. Is this the case? HAI Omnipro II, on the other hand, supports UPB from the start - even with their own brand switches - and is integrated with Zwave through a Vizia RF module.

With Elk, I would have to use M1XSP for Zwave, that I suspect will need more programming and tinkering. For UPB, there is a separate module as well, but not sure how reliable it would be.

My impression is that there would be less surprises with HAI, especially if I stick with their brandname UPB switches or the Vizia line of switches. I do not want to get stuck endlessly debugging issues, I want stuff to just click and work :p Or is there any benefit for using Elk M1 if I plan to go with UPB/Zwave?