Help me choose between the M1 Gold and the M1EZ8

zorglub995

Hi,

I am ready to invest in an ELK system in the next few days.

I've already read a lot of interesting comments about how the M1 Gold is a better investment that the M1EZ8, but I have the feeling that, in my situation, the M1EZ8 may be the best choice.

I'll start by telling you my needs:

Security control including mostly wireless detectors (I leave in a condo on the second floor, and wiring is not really an option)
I don't think I will need more than 8 zones. I had a house before, and only used 4 zones....
Q:- I guess that in both cases, I will need a wireless receptor ?

Home automation. At first I won't do much, but I want the capability as I plan on adding later, if needed

I want to be able to access and control the system via networking:
- I am a network/system administrator, so having a PC dedicated 7/24 for this task is really not a problem (already have one..).
- I want to be able to access infos, receive alarms and do some config (ie thermostat control) from my network (or the Internet), mainly via our cellphones (Web browser) and eventually some touchscreen pads I plan on installing.
Q: - I guess that in both cases, I will need the Ethernet module ?

The voice system is really not important for me, I prefer to be notified on my cellphone via SMS than hear the same voice over and over saying "System armed" or something like it.. :)

The telephony part is really not attractive since I don't have a phone network at home, we all have our own cell phone. That why I prefer commnunicating with the system via network.

So I figured that I need the following: (I already have my wireless detectors)

1 x M1GSYS4

OR

1 x M1EZ8KB + 1 x M1EZ8MSI to add a serial port as with the M1G

then, whatever I choose I will also need the following:

1 x M1XRF2G or NX-548E for the wireless zones
1 x M1XEP for the Ethernet port