[How-To] Make a Relay Power Switch

BraveSirRobbin

Cocooner rrockoff (Rod) was kind enough to submit this How-To on making a relay power switch. His submission is detailed below:

How-To Make a Relay Power Switch

by rrockoff

Background: I am almost done adding a 7.1 surround system to my master bedroom with 2 extra music zones (bathroom and retreat). My 7.1 receiver has a powered zone 2 but zone 3 needed an amplifier. Lucky for me I had an old amp in my junk pile waiting to be used. I wanted the external amp to power on when the main 7.1 receiver is turned on. However, the max output of the switched plug on the back of the receiver is only rated at one amp. My external amplifier is rated at four amps. A $10 trip to hardware and Radio Shack fixed my issue.

I used the following parts to make a relay switch. You may need different parts depending on what you have laying around your house. Also I am not an electrician. I do not take any responsibility for any issue that can result from making this DIY project.

Materials Required
  • Six Outlet Power Strip
  • 12VDC relay - rated at 10A at 120VAC (Radio Shack part number 275-248)
    --You may want to use a different relay depending on the wall wart you use. --
  • 12VDC wall wart
    -- Use whatever you have. Mine just happens to be 12VDC 300ma. --
  • Msc. Wire
  • Soldering Iron
Here is how it works:

(Click on Picture for Full Sized Image)

12 volt wall wart plugged into the 7.1 switched outlet in the back of the receiver. Other end of wall wart (12VDC) connected to the coil of the 12VDC relay. Hot wire connected to Normally Open connections on relay. With this simple configuration, the power strip only turns on when the receiver turns on. Since the power strip is plugged into the wall, I get around the one amp limitation of the receiver.