Minus 10 Degrees - Recommendations Please

Monk

So - my ELK temp sensors are notoriously unreliable. Today  I am again reminded by the fact that I have a sensor stating 8 degrees when 2 stand-alone thermometers I trust show minus 10.

Yes - I am aware the ELK's can be adjusted but find that to be more trouble that it is worth by making other temperature ranges inaccurate. That is to say - if I adjusted it right now - it would be way off when it is 70 outside. Been through this a couple of few times.

Please recommend any accurate sensor I can integrate via ELK or HomeSeer?

Maybe even a weather station setup where I can pull the values into HomeSeer.

Here utilize three types of sensors.

1 - Leviton Omni temperature sensors which talk to Homeseer
2 - Weather station / console temperature sensors connected to Cumulus which connects to Homeseer
3 - 1-Wire network(s) of temperature sensors.

Most accurate are the 1-Wire and Weather station temperature sensors.

Oldest today is the 1-Wire stuff.  I am using many combo temperature and humidity sensors purchased in the 1990's.

Way back wired catXX for the 1-wire stuff in a star topology.  Later went to a hub and spoke topology.  Note that the temperature sensors need no power and will work fine with two wires.

This morning's outdoor temperature was - 5 °F and currently it is 1 ° F  here in the midwest.

Old 1-wire networks used Temp-05's, Temp-08's and Maxim 9097's.  Testing out a small RPi2 combo Maxim 9097 hub with Homeseer and it is doing fine.  The hub writes a text file every minute and Homeseer reads the text file and converts the sensors over to variables via a VB script.

You can purchase the EDS system and incorporate it in to Homeseer via a 3rd party plugin.  (Randy - ELK plugin author).

EDS is using the first 1-Wire OWFS OS and embedded it in firmware. 

Here running a OWFS server concurrent with using Digitemp on my test RPi.

owfs.jpg