Recommended tools for new pro

robolo

Just passed my California C-7 low voltage contractor license. Trying to plan my equipment purchases. Figure I'll need a network cable analyzer to certify my installs but what other equipment would you guys recommend / couldn't live without?

Robolo

Hello and congratulations. Not to kill your buzz, but have you ever done any lv work before? I would imagine if you are going into the lv field you would know what tools work best for you. Anyway here is my must have list:

diagonal cutters
electrician scissors
12 in 1 screwdriver
Bosch hammer drill/impact driver combo (18v lithium ion)
Drill bits (wood and masonry)
Fish sticks (don’t cheap out on these)
Electrical circuit tester
110 punch down tool
icm crimper
4’, 8’, 32’ fiberglass ladders

Thanks for the list and yes, I have a lot of experience, while making do with the tools I already owned. Now that I am kicking it up a level I wanted to see if there was anything I didn't already have that was considered "standard" pro equipment.

Just make sure you get quality tools - they make all the difference in the world. You'll need good crimpers for RJ11/RJ45 (a good quality ratcheting style); good punch-downs (110/66). Extension drill-bits, fish tape, fish rods, a good circle cutter and/or roto-zip for drywall cuts. fittings for Coax (RG6/RG59) - either compression or crimp; good cutters for coax, Cat5; the electrician's scissors mentioned above...

What type of work do you want to focus on? Security, HA, Audio, Structured Wiring? And new constructions vs. existing; Commercial vs. Residential?

Each one has different tools.

For the network tester, expect to spend some money; the cheapest one I've ever found that's worth anything is the Fluke CableIQ, but it's $1500. The $100 ones only test continuity, but don't test for crosstalk or attenuation, so even if the wires are physically connected, they may not work.