Security System Wiring Basics

SnyperBob

Hello everyone!

Sorry for all of my questions. I read through SBR's Home Security wiring guide about 10 times, and read through the EOL guide as well. I still have a bunch of questions about how to wire a security system.

Outline:
Currently I'm interested in getting an M1G. This means that I can't afford one for a month or two, but I want to prewire the house in preparation for getting it. I will be installing the sensors and running the wire in a new house, currently framed without drywall. Specifically, I really need to get sensors on 5 windows, and wire up at least a few motion detectors, and a few glass break detectors.

Questions:
All of these questions are going to be tailored towards eventually hooking everything up to an Elk M1 Gold. Please keep in mind that I don't have it yet so I don't exactly know what features it has. Also, i'm new to home security, so I don't know much about it.

1. setting up a circuit with an EOL (end of line) resistor is better than not doing it, correct? From what I read/found out, you can monitor more codes with the EOLr, than by not using an EOLr and setting the Elk M1 Gold to monitor the circuit as normally closed?

2. Can anyone explain the best way to wire a sensor? I already know that it's best to put the EOL resistor on the end of the circuit near the sensor (as opposed to the end of the circuit in the panel).....but how do I put the resistor in? Does it get soldered in? I'm a visual person, does anyone have pictures of this?

In regards to wiring a sensor, does the leads from the sensor get soldered to the wires I homerunned to the panel, or do I use twist plugs? Or do I just simply twist the wires together by hand and electrical tape them or something?