UPB UPstart issues...

sniem1525

Hey guys,

Having a weird issue with HAI PIM and UPStart. 

I have a UPB network running from OmniPro IIe with HLC controls with no issue. I'm able to slap a new switch in, go into setup mode, locate/configure, and I'm done. All is good.I have zero issues with the PIM communicating between the controller and the switches.

I bought a Simply Automated UPB receptacle to try out. I downloaded UPStart, bought the 36A05-2 adapter kit, and grabbed my Prolific USB-to-Serial adapter.

I've not had to use UPStart on my network yet, but it seems straight forward. I'm an IT engineer, so these things come pretty easy. I hook the adapter to the PIM and run upstart and begin testing. I select RS232 PIM as the interface type, specify the port, and start testing. Sometimes it detects everything correctly, sometimes it detects the wrong firmware, sometimes it doesn't detect anything, etc. It's a very sporadic detection.

When it does detect correctly, I go into UPStart and try the network scan. I stick in the network ID and password, then run discovery. Sometimes it picks up the devices, but each pass reports back a different network ID. It's not a random ID, but it's usually a few numbers high/low of what it's actually set at. If i try to detect a device in setup mode, it doesn't find it. Occasionally I will hear it buzz, so I know it's doing SOMETHING.

My question is if anyone has seen this issue and knows how to get around it. Most of what I've found is that people didn't have the adapter kit, or it wasn't in pulse mode. I've ran through the reset several times to get it in message mode and then tried to use UPStart to put it in pulse mode. I haven't found anything that says how to specifically put it in pulse mode outside of UPStart. Any help would be greatly appreciated, it's driving me crazy.

First Hi.

First I will say its always best to get a separate PIM for your PC.  Not that you can't do what you are trying to do, but its easier.