What lighting protocol to use with Elk M1

Philament

I finally got the security on the m1 up and running after moving into a house.  I now want to look into the automation and wanted thoughts on the different lighting protocols with the Elk (UPB, zwave etc.).

I am thinking UPB due to its reliability but any advice or comments are appreciated.  The house is all recessed lighting and there are a lot of switches which are the dimmable Lutron Maestro and most of them are 3/4 way switches.  Price isn't a main concern but I would want to keep each switch to sub $100 which shouldn't be a problem with most protocols.

I'm no pro but when I was choosing a protocol for lighting automation I chose UPB. I just couldn't see any reason to choose a wireless protocol that is susceptible to RF interference over a system that uses existing wires. It's been three years and I've had no problems.

Mike.

UPB is the best, but as someone with maybe 50 switches, here is my advice:

1) First you said that you have many 3-way or 4-way switches, but DO NOT get tempted into using a UPB "remote" switch. They are a bad idea.  In theory they can remotely control a regular switch, but there are problems. First, they don't feel like regular switches and second their indicators don't match regular switches.  So instead, consider putting a regular UPB switch at each location, and connect them with a link.  This gives you more flexibility because then ANY UPB can be programmed to control ANY UPB switch.  In other-words, your not locked in to use set switches to control any particular light.