Help me build an Elk M1 Gold system

Hi, I'm new to home automation. I've searched the forums but cannot seem to find the answer to some of my questions. Please link me to a post if the info is already here.

I'm looking to build an Elk M1 Gold system. My home is already prewired for security. My main goal is to add the Elk system and be able to control my home security, lights, thermostat, shades, door locks, and maybe even garage door. I'm mainly a Mac user, so ideally, I'd like to program it on my Mac via a web-based solution or an OSX native software.

1) It seems like I need the base package (ELK-M1GSYS3) and some keypads. What else do I need? The ethernet adapter?
2) Can I do all the automation with Elk itself? Or would it be better to add an ISY-99 to that. If I add the ISY, what do I need to get to have them talk to each other?
3) Also, which protocol would people recommend? Insteon, z-wave, upb?
4) Which software is best that works on a Mac?
5) Lastly, is Elk M1 gold the best system for this or would the OmniPro II be better?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I have an M1G and a Mac as well. The automation protocol I'm using is Insteon.

I like Insteon a lot. It's cheap, and works pretty well. There's issues here and there, but overall I'm pretty happy. I largely chose Insteon because of the cost (and I wasn't sure how much I wanted to spend when I was getting into this) and because there's a great piece of software out there called Indigo (for Mac) that is super-simple to use, with a very 'Mac' interface. (Easy to integrate with an iPhone as well if you have one).

My Elk on the other hand is currently in 'security only' mode. I wanted to automate more with it, but Indigo just made a lot of that stuff easier. I still want to integrate it with my system, but currently they are seperate. I do have the Ethernet interface, and it's almost worth it for programming alone. I log into it all the time to tweak this or that.