Chirp the keypads

lugnut

I'm a rookie at this so please bear with me. I want an event to beep the keypad. The only way I've found so far to do this is with a THEN rule to start beeps when the event transition is detected. Turning the keypad beeps on causes a short burst of 3 beeps, then a pause, then repeats the burst of 3 beeps until it is explicitly stopped. I only want a single burst of the 3 beeps, always 3 beeps, to all keypads.

The way I found to do this in theory is using a 1 second counter, which starts after the BEEP START, and ends the beeps when the timer times out.

The issue I've found with the use of counters and a WHENEVER 1 SECOND rule is the 1 second seems tied to a system timer tic's 1-second boundary, so the event that happens asynchronous to the system timer tic results in I sometimes hear the keypad emit the short burst of 3 beeps, and sometimes not. It depends (it seems anyway) on when the event hits within the system timer tic's 1-second window, which is unpredictable since they aren't synchronized.

If I set the counter that terminates the beeps to 2 seconds, I sometimes get two bursts of 3 beeps, and sometimes just one. Also, it can vary with my 2 keypads. Sometimes I hear the beeps on one keypad but not the other. I guess that says there is no "keypad broadcast address" on the data bus, and it sends the commands in series, individually addressed (but I can't find where you can actually direct text or beeps to specific keypads so maybe I'm confused)

So my question, is there a simple way to just send a single burst of 3 beeps to all keypads, that I'm not seeing? Where it will always send just the single burst of 3 beeps, and always to all keypads?

Would the use of "dummy outputs" turned on for 1 second give a different result? (i.e. if you turn an output on for 1 second, does it turn on immediately, even if the system timer-tic-seconds is at say xx1.47 seconds, or does it also hold off until it detects a transition to xx2.00 seconds?)