ELK and Extra Power Supply

16 System Sensor 4 Wire.jpg Hi everyone,

Newbie here trying to wire a Elk M1G with 16 Smokes along with approximately 60 zones, 4-5 Temp Sensors and a Elk WSV (Water Shutoff Valve). Because of the power requirements I am using a Elk P412 four amp power supply. The smokes are the System Sensor 4WTA-B. All smokes are homerunned into the panel. Using a RSSMOD and EOL Resistor so that I would know which smoke oView attachment 3626riginated the alarm while all smokes alarm. Since the Temps require a zone between 1-16, I was looking at purchasing two Elk M1XOVR for the smokes to wire into. Run into a brain fart and cannot figure this out. Any help would be appreciated. Attached is a chart showing the RSS Mod as if it were connect direct to the M1G using zones 1-16. Now that I'm using the additional power supply and possible M1XOVR, I need some help. Here is the link the diagram. I've also got a PD9HC (Power Distribution Module) and a P624 (Power Supply and battery charger).

Your help is appreciated.

Attachments

• Elk M1G 4wire system sensor diagram.pdf
    121.8 KB · Views: 74
2Blackbelt,
I do not have specific knowledge regarding smokes but I do have the elk p412. Currently I am just using it to cut down on some wall warts. Eventually i will use it for elk devices. Try using "elk p412" in the search engine. It will get 30+ hits. This could help lead you in the right direction.

You could use a relay tied to the SAUX

SAUX + to one side of coil on relay
NEG - to one side of coil on relay

AUX + of auxillary power supply to the common on relay

NOTE: some relays are mark with Normally open being with no power applied.
the goal is to have the power going through the relay with the elk in a normal state to feed the smoke. you must use this to make sure the coil is being energised so the relay acts as self supervision.

RRS-MOD

Yellow NO of above relay
Orange NEG of AUX power supply
RED POS of AUX power supply
BLACK NEG of AUX power supply