ELK M1 and DVR Cameras

LindaWCCA

Newbie here with questions since this forum has been so helpful!  I have a 16 channel stand along DVR camera system (not IP's) of which 3 of those cameras are interior.  For privacy issues I only want to have the 3 interior cameras ON when alarm is ON.  I have exhausted the possibiities of my DVR settings so I am left with turn on/off power to the 3 individual interior cameras (only way I can see to keep the intire rest of camera system recording and marking outside events). The 3 cameras are 12V requiring less than 1 amp each. 

What is the best way to set up Elk M1 to power on the 3 cameras?  I can write the rule for such but not sure how to actually set up the hardware.  I suspect I would need to get a sperate power sourse for the 3 cameras since currently they are all on a single power box can.  Can I just wire them individual to a Form "C" Dry contact closure NC and apply rule?  Or would I need to go another route more along the lines of "lighting control" with a compatible modual that would turn on/off the seperate power box for those 3 cameras?

Any easy ideas are greatly appreciated.

Linda

Well JP I thought this might have fixed my problem but...I did wire directly to output 3  Form "C" dry contact the positive wire to N/C and the ground to COM and wrote the rules.  I ran "test" on the rules and they seemed to work, when alarm wass set I could hear the click of the relay and the red light came on and when I disarmed I heard the click and the red light went off but the camera never came on - there seemed to be no power to it.  Did I miss something?  Do I need to program the relay in the RP2 software other than the rule?

LindaWCCA said:
I did wire directly to output 3  Form "C" dry contact the positive wire to N/C and the ground to COM and wrote the rules.