Need sage advice about Sage....

beelzerob

I'm new to using Sage, and I've been given the challenge by the wife: "Make it so my folks can watch general hospital while they're here."

Ok, so here's what I have:

• A decently powered media PC which at one time was used to render captured OTA HD
  • ATSC-110 HD OTA capture card
  • Hauppage PVR250 capture card
  • DVICO HD Fusion 5 lite capture card
  • A lower powered PC which is currently the CQC server (stays on 24/7)
  • A media MVP

Our OTA reception is pretty poor here. We basically get nothing for analog channels (which is fine, they're going away soon anyway), and we get digital channels for Fox, ABC, and NBC. All of those have a digital broadcast which comes in 480i. We get CBS too, but it's always in some higher form of HD apparently.

The good news is GH comes on ABC, which we get pretty decently in HD and in digital SD.

I resurrected the older PC (FX5200 video card, AMD Athlon something or other, 1 GB memory) for the CQC server and for running the kitchen touchscreen. it works great for that. I thought it'd be pretty neat to be able to use that for anything sage related too, so I don't have to use the more power-intensive media PC (Athlon 64 I think, and some better video card).

So here's what I was able to do....I put the PVR250 card in the lower powered PC and looked to see what channels I could tune in. It did get some channels. I'm guessing those must have been analog channels, and the reception was bad. So, I put in the HD Fusion card and hooked up the antenna to that, and the reception was much better.