ONQ HMS 1100 fire alarm has stopped working

batemanpa

Hi- A couple years back I moved into a house with a ONQ fire/security system HMS 1100 installed. Recently the fire alarm system has stopped working. I have no experience with this type of system so I am looking for a little help.....

The smoke detectors activate when tested with a smoke can (the red activation light shows on the smoke detector) but no alarm sounds.
When I check the event log on the console it does not show any alarm event (but seems to record every other system event)
I have tested the alarm horn itself and it works fine (using the test function from the console)
The console is showing the "ok? status
I located the input cable from the smoke detectors and they are all connected to the controller and not loose.

Anyone have ideas what might be wrong?

thanks
Paul

Sounds like they might be disabled or latched in alarm.....hard to say.

I'd use a meter to verify operation independent of the alarm panel first, see if an EOLR is present, cycle power and see how they function, if at all.

HAI was the OEM supplier for the OnQ stuff, so from what I can see, it looks like a modified OP panel.

Yup; it was made around 2002 and basically is an OmniPro II with an OnQ chipset. 

It is very easy to update to an OmniPro II if need be.

Note that this will not solve your issues but will provide you with current OmniPro II firmware.

I purchased one a few years back and it looked identical to my OmniPro II except for the chips and labels on the board.

I could connect to the panel with with the OnQ chipset with PCA but couldn't do anything with it other than see it was an OnQ firmware on the board.

December 31, 2008