Pet immune motion sensor still sees the pets?

pmb1010

Newbie here working on setting up Elk system. I have a mix of wired and wireless devices attached.
Progressing very well. Wireless door and window sensors installed on primary exit doors, and most vunerable windows.

For the 2 areas that sort of need this, I figured it'd be very easy to install motion sensor. I'm starting with living room.
The windows in the rooms in question face the front and would be silly to put sensors on, as they are high off the ground and would not be my pick to break into.

Anyway, I have a 60-511-02-95 type GE crystal wireless PIR sensor in the living room, temporarily installed in corner facing in at about almost 7 feet from floor. There are 3 sensitivity settings, standard, medium, and high. I have on Standard, as it says thats the one to use for up to 40 lb pets. (thats the lowest sensivity)

The room is about 20x20. In center of room is a armchair, that our cats just love to sit on the top of. As anyone with cats know, they go for the highest point, put a piece of paper on the floor and the cat will stand on it.

I've now found that this sensor does in fact pick these critters up as they jump up to the arm of chair, and up to the top of backrest. I've move the sensor up from 6.5 feet to 7, to try to take this out of the view of the sensor but no go...

So whats the deal? Any tricks I can do to get this device installed in a pet equipped household?

Thanks!
PMB

To overcome this in my living room I installed a 2nd motion detector at a different corner and used the cross zone feature on my Elk M1. Both zones must trip in a certain interval for an alarm to sound. No more false alarms since!

Cats are a problem, they move too quickly and climb on things.
PIR immune really should be billed as "dog" immune.
Usually the pet immune detectors use the lowest sensitivity as the only cat setting.