Water shutoff valves

mikesm

Hi.  I'm building a  house and am installing water sensors all over the place, and hooking it all up to an elk system with a water shutoff valve.  My plumber also advises me to use a drain valve as well, as it's a 2 story house plus a basement and he thinks if a leak sprung on the basement or first floor, you'd end up with a lot of water leaking if you didn't also drain the water from the line (maybe in a couple locations) as well as cut off the input. 

I see folks here have recommended the use of the elk valve or the Greenfiield valve that Elk OEM's, both of which are expensive, esp if I use some for the drains as well.

Has anyone played with these stainless steel valves from US Solid?  I can't post a link since I am a newbie, but you can find them on amazon.com.

They are full port valves with PTFE seats which is nice, and have a variety of them at very good price points.  Reviews seem pretty good.

Thx
mike

I have no experience with the US Solid valves (which, despite the name, are made in China).   Note that the one you linked to is normally closed, and you apply power to them to open it.  And they are not meant for continuous duty.  So, it's the wrong valve to use for places where you normally want the water to be able to flow.  There are are other models that might be a better choice.

I have bought some similar inexpensive valves from BACOENG.  I sent them back after examining them.  Although the valve is supposed to have a limit switch which shuts off power once it is fully open or closed, it didn't do so.  And although the valve had 3/4" fittings, the opening through the ball was closer to 1/2".

You get what you pay for.  I'd recommend sticking with the Elk or Greenfield valves.