Westec 5000 to Elk M1 Gold

shawnc

Hi,

First I'm new here....

My question:

I recently purchased a house with an existing Westec 5000 (in working condition).  I've always wanted to have an Elk M1 Gold system so I bought one.  Does anyone know if I can convert everything that's currently installed in the house to my Elk 1 Gold?  Our new home has a lot of doors, glass break sensors, etc...  I have done some research, some say it shouldn't be too difficult, others say it may be difficult due to resistance in the door sensors.  

I'm assuming that I have to do some resistance tests before I will know for sure.

Has anyone here done a conversion from Westec 5000 to an Elk M1 Gold?

Would it be better to find a contractor to do this for me?  (I live in Los Angeles and apparently Elk knows one installer in OC and one in LA)

I would love to do this myself (I've never done alarm before, but I have a lot of experience with computers, and some with PBX phone systems).

The last remodel on the house was 1993, so I'm assuming that's when the system was installed.

Thanks in advance!

Shawn

I've yanked a few of the Westec panels over the years....with the biggest difficulty being locating the zones on the board without a schematic (pre-smartphone in the field days).

You may or may not have resistors installed at the devices or in the contacts, but that really shouldn't be too difficult to fix. Hopefully Westec didn't do like they did here and run everything to a junction box or punchdown block before the panel and AMP connectors.

DELInstallations said:
I've yanked a few of the Westec panels over the years....with the biggest difficulty being locating the zones on the board without a schematic (pre-smartphone in the field days).