Elk M1-XEP GMX E-mail Setup

reko19

Had GMX email working with no issues since 2014, stopped working last month.  Anybody else has any issues, any suggestions on how to get it working again?

Thank you.

I've never used GMX. Try using a different email provider?

I have my own hosted email server that I utilize for numerous people and it works without issue.

What firmware version is on your XEP? Did you upgrade to the latter versions that support encrypted emails?

I never updated the firmware, heard there are some issues with delayed response, etc.  I have been using GMX for the past several years, they must've changed something that is messing me up.

Anybody still successfully using GMX?

thx

Yes, I have noticed an additional delay (a few seconds) with the utilization of encrypted emails. Having said that, I'd prefer the time loss over having Elk messages (i.e. AC power lost) sent in plain text. 

I also had email notifications setup when family members other than myself or wife would disarm the system (e.g. brother, mother-in-law, etc). Simply a notification that I could receive that they had disarmed the system; maybe they were dog watching. ***Mary disarmed the system***. My preference is to have this information encrypted. YMMV. 

So I inquired if GMX made any changed to their system here is what I received in reply:

As communicated, we have performed an update in our system and what you may have been experiencing is a service interruption as the settings in your device or mail program were not adjusted. In order to continue sending and receiving via an email program (e.g. Outlook/Thunderbird/Apple Mail), system (such us scanners/cameras/printers) or the native mail client in the mobile device please use the following values in your configuration:

SMTP Settings
* Server SMTP: mail.gmx.com
* Port SMTP: 25 or 587 or 465 (STARTTLS, TLS or encryption)

POP & IMAP Settings
* Server IMAP4: imap.gmx.com
* Port IMAP4: 143 or 585 or 993 (SSL or encryption)