Basic Home Wiring Books

elcano

I decided to buy this book on Residential Wiring ( http://www.cocoontech.com/index.php?showtopic=3123 ), after reading Squintz's review on it. I have a degree in Electrical Engineering, but my concetration is in guess what...Control Systems. I worked some control systems projects in industrial applications, but most of my career I have been in the computers field. So my knowledge of wiring for power and residential systems is just basic. I know the theory, but not the practice and customs on this area of knowledge.

This is an area that is more guided by security than engineering, so stuying the technical aspects of electricity is not enough. As the book on Residental Wiring explains (this was new for me) 'The Code', as many of us know it, was written by a fire prevention association - not an enginnering body. So meeting the code ensures acceptable secure pratices - not necessarily the most efficient of technically correct design, but it is safe.

Returning to the book, it is oriented to high school and bachelor degree students learning electricity. It is VERY complete and explains every topic from end-to-end. I only kept it for a few days because my brother, who is designing its own house confiscated it. The book also include sample engineering drawings. So it is good even if you are at the design level. I recommend the book to everybody trying to understand their house wiring - mostly the power part (not as good on networking and automation).

But the book, at about $60 is expensive.