Complete Bath Remodel

jedinite7

All, Thanks in advance for reading this long post. I have done a lot of lurking but this is obviously my first post.

Background:
I am doing a complete remodel of a bathroom and wanted to run some of my plans by everyone to see if I am missing something and just get your thoughts in general . The remodel will likely happen in about 6 months and will be the first stage of a complete house remodel. I am on a seriously limited budget, and I have no hardware/software besides a few computers. I will eventually retrofit my entire house with all of the HA goodies that the pros here seem to have in place. I am an EE by trade and have no worries using/creating any type of hardware. I have done some programming in C and perl. Not too familiar with servers/virtualization. Networking scares/frustrates me. I say all that as an introduction and to give a basis of where I am coming from. The house is one story with an attic and a crawl space, so the rest of the retrofit should be possible as far as wiring goes. I am completley gutting the bathroom including drywall, ceiling, and subfloor (leaked at one point and is basically ruined).

Basic Architeture:
Since I am on a weak budget I plan to initially use a PC based solution as the controller. For software I am going to try all of the free solutions for now (Misterhouse, other Linux options, Premise, etc.) and switch to Homeseer/CQC if I eventually find those to be lacking. I guess the most important thing to get right during this remodel is the wiring and make sure whatever I do is compatible with my final vision. That way I can upgrade the individual components as I go. Here were my initial thoughts: