Electric motors

chevy_b69

havent posted here in a very long time, everything is still on track for my HA system. i havent started building yet but i am probably gonna use CQC and the ELK hardwiring all the way.

i have decided i would like a table that drops out of the ceiling, but i need a motor for this. i am happy to spend a long time studying, but i would like to build/ modify it myself.

i have been looking for reading material on how to go about this but so far havent found anything specific enough to help.

so if anyone can, point me in the right direction it would really help.

BTW. i am an electrician so i know a little already.

This may sound odd but I have seen garage door openers used for dumb-waiters. Set up the opener in the attic and attach a cable where you would normally attach the door. Add a couple of strategically palced pulleys and you are all set. The nice thing about this is you can operate it remotely and it already has provision for travel limit in both directions.

Just as a side note, some of the new battery back up units with DC motors are amazing quiet.

Rob

I'm building a system to hoist bikes to the ceiling and I found that the simplest way of acheiving this was to use a cheap winch that I bought on special at "Canadian Tire". It's a little noisy, but it can pull upto 2000lbs.

thanks guys i will investigate both the winch and the garage door, any ideas where i can get the schematics/ dimensions on these items ?

The winch concept lead me to this one. Says 2,000 pounds for $40! Just over an inch per second speed. Hmm...

The winch concept lead me to this one. Says 2,000 pounds for $40! Just over an inch per second speed. Hmm...

I beleive winchs are rated in rolling weight. also this would be a horizontal pull not Vertical. I am alittle afrade of using a winch for a vertical pull.

Lookingm at the "attic Lift" it looks like a winch/crain setup you might find in an industural location, just not as heafty...