Home Automation with a Touch of Security - Noob Help

TheEther

*sigh* I've been reading until my brain hurts... Your help/advice is much appreciated.

I'm building a 4500 sq/ft home and am weeks away from the drywall phase. I've wanted to do Home Automation for quite sometime. I was a 12 Volt Engineer for 4 years and am now an Engineer for the Tech Industry. I'm incredibly DIY minded and not afraid to tackle anything. Heck, I even do all my own auto repair. In my last house I ran 24 drops of Cat5 including a patch panel, 66 blocks and phone wiring. So this is right up my alley..

In reading about all the options, it's a bit overwhelming. My wife and I agreed to put a security system in the house during the build as I prefer my Door and Windows to have wired switches over wireless. (Maybe that's old fashioned, if so let me know.) What brought me here is I was doing some research on Home Automation and quickly realized I could also DIY my Home Security system complete with 3rd party monitoring. Wow, I thought. So I've run across the HAI and ELK systems. It looks like what will work best for me and my budget would be the ELK/ISY-99i combo from SmartHome (BUT PLEASE, if there a better solution for my needs, chime in). Also I have a requirement for heavy integration with the iPhone/iPad.

Here's where things get fuzzy for me. I'm having trouble understanding what the ELK does well and the Insteon does well and what I should plan for each. THIS I WHERE I NEED THE MOST HELP.. If there's another HA platform I should consider please let me know. I need to make the decision quickly as I'l need to begin running cables and switches very soon.

What I want to do on the Security Side:

1. Protect 5 doors that open to the outside.
2. Protect the Garage Door/Garage (I;m reading motion sensors are potentially unreliable though)
3. Protect approx 12 windows give or take a few. Not planning on doing all of them since some are too high to be a major threat.