Omni2E + Nuvo Essentia E6G = Uh-oh

tomtoth

Hi Guys,
First, I'm a total noob so I apologize for anything said, and yes, I have been searching the internet and these forums for days/weeks trying to find answers. So here it goes. I hired an Home Automation company to help with all my design and more specifically programming. Unfortunately, They are of little help now. I have a working OmniIIe. (security is working mostly, and light switches are programmed.) I have programmed a lot of this myself thru trial and error.

Now, the problem. This company sold me a Omni2e with a Nuvo Essentia. Now nearly 2 years after the fact, when my install is nearly complete (Nuvo keypads installed, drywall up and painted, UPB light switches installed). Now I found out(well 3 months ago) that of course the OmniIIe does NOT interface to a Nuvo Essentia. What I have been using is a old netbook via remote desktop to get music to the zones. Now I want to be able to control, not only zones, but sources from one interface. If I had been sold the omnipro2 to begin with, things would have been easier. I am fairly comfortable DIY'r, but am unsure if upgrading to a omnipro2 and ebaying the omniIIe is something I can do. If I Do this, my understanding is I still have no source selection (at least via the HAI android/ipad/snaplink) interface. (unless I go to hifi2??)

This Home automation company wants to sell me a $2500 Nuvo MusicPort server, and then buy the ipad application to control the entire audio system. Good, but to expensive and doesn't play shoutcast.