Should I use Insteon?

Jay M

I have been using X-10 for about 10 years now and my needs are pretty simple. But X-10 doesn't work well in my house.

The biggest issue I am aware of with Insteon is build quality. I have had 5 Insteon dimmers and 1 Powerlinc controller (the thing that stores timers for X-10) for over two years, and the only thing that has failed was the Powerlinc controller, and it has failed twice!
I also have about 10 Smarthome X-10 dimers. I have had them installed for about 3 years and one of them isn't working well.
If you include the two failed Powerlinc controllers I guess you can call that a 20% failure rate. Three out of about 16 devices are not working properly. That is statistically a horrible number! Funny thing is that the guy at Smart home told me over the phone that the Powerlic controllers only last about a year, so it would be wise to buy the extended warranty.

But if I were to take the Powerlic Controller out of the equation then that leaves one Switchlinc that still works, but not well, so the failure rate would be 7%. That would mean I would need to replace one per two years if I have 20. A bit of a PITA, but you get what you pay for.

My current needs are:
1. Reliable communication throughout the house.
2. Product build quality
3. I need my learning IR remote to be able to trigger scenes in lighting.
4. I need a timer to run scenes
5. I need relays for florescent lights, low voltage landscaping, and fountain a pump.
6. I need a quality dimmer that doesn't make the bulbs ring.
7. one or two keypads to run a few common scenes (maybe one in the foyer, and one at the back door.)

Insteon is appealing for a few reasons:
1. I already own several dimmers (I'm using them as X-10)
2. The price is low, especially since I already own a few
3. The product line meets my needs for timers IR, and relays.
4. custom etched face plates look really high-end.

Possible future needs:
1. motion sensors
2. secuity
3. Advanced conditional programming.