Start a big project

sbman

Hi!  I'm new to 'home automation'.  I'm a software engineer and do PC, Web and a little embedded stuff also.

I'm starting on a long term project to automate the home I just purchased. We plan to be there for a long time and I have a lot of things I want to automate!

Choosing technologies seems to be a lot like bobbing for apples when you actually want to make an apple pie.

I've got a long list of things I want to do, mainly from a functionality perspective. I've tried to take the approach of answering 'what can the house do for me' instead of focusing on the particular technologies at first.  I've got a clear picture of my long term goals and what I want to do, but there is no single system I can find that will do it all from any perspective.  I don't want to go down a path that will require me to rebuild/replace stuff cause I used things that wouldn't be flexible in the future.  For the environmental / subjective rules, they include:
  1. No dealers
  2. No recurring fees
  3. No data collection by third parties
  4. Open APIs that I can play with and build custom sensors/actuators
  5. Reliable assuming I use it correctly
I don't expect (nor want) dealer level support.  As long as the product does what it is advertised to do, that's acceptable.

I'm leaning towards insteon and zigbee HA, and some WIFI.  I say that mainly because I can play with those using published protocols and buy it without violating any of my 'rules', especially rule #1.

I have looked at RadioRa2 and I like their stuff, but it violates rules #1, #2, and possibly #3, #4 depending on how I went about it. It appears that you have to have certifications to even get your hands on some software to play with and there are arbitrary 'device count' limits based on your level of 'training'. Sounds like a certain religion that is popular with celebrities.  If they don't want me as  DIY'r I don't want them either.