Which belden cable for security?

rsspencer

Would one of you fine people be able to provide me a belden model # for 22/4 wire to use for security? I'm a newbie HO providing a few thousand feet of the wire for the installer for door & window contacts as well as PIR's, glass breaks, flood sensors, occupancy sensors and the like but can't figure out which belden cable I should use.

5541UE?

6502UE?
5522UE?
5502UE?
5502UG?
8444?

The prices seem to vary wildly (especially for 8444) but they are all 22/4 so I'm not sure why the big differences unless some is plenum or fire rated or something? I tried searching the forums but didn't find specific model numbers.

If there is a longer length of run, say over 100', would it be better to use one model over another that would be better/cheaper for shorter runs?
Stranded or solid?

Any light you can shed on the subject will be appreciated.
Thanks,
Rob

Any of these cables will work, but here's the differences:
  • 5541UE - Unshielded Stranded 22AWG - Riser Rated
  • 6502UE - Unshielded Stranded 22AWG - Plenum Rated
  • 5522UE - Unshielded Solid 22AWG - Riser Rated
  • 5502UE - Unshielded Stranded 22AWG - Riser Rated
  • 5502UG - Unshielded Stranded 22AWG - General Use
UE is riser rated, UG is general use. Nothing wrong with using riser rated, but not necessary in residential. Plenum really isn't needed in residential. Some people prefer stranded, some people prefer solid (I prefer stranded).

*double check all that - but that was a quick lookup on belden's catalog.

I don't know what pricing is like, but any will do just fine... and 22AWG is what you'll use for all normal security/motion (22/2 for contacts, 22/4 for motion/glassbreak/and any other powered sensor)... 18AWG for speakers/sirens. Cat5/6 for keypads. If you do any fire/smoke alarms, those need fire rated cabling, as does at least one keypad and the speakers if the units don't have internal sounders.