Why is 'Elk On-Line Training ' Pinned at the top? Help with a new build and type of wiring needed?

Pcarfan

Why is this a pinned topic, when none of the links work?

I am new to elk m1 gold, and trying to get info. Everything up there is dead links. There are some training videos at the elkproducts.com site, but I am an extreme novice and even the basic training is above my skill level.

I am building a house and just curious what type of wiring I will have to have in place for a future elk security system?

It looks like the locations where each control box will be could have a CAT5 cable run, is this correct? Will each sensor on doors and windows need hard wiring? If it does what type? (it's hard to believe each window and door will need wiring). Will these wires then in turn be connected to the circuit box? how exactly are these wires connected to the circuit board? Can wireless sensors somehow communicate to this device.

P.S: I will be using Insteon sensors. Could those be controlled wireless?

Any help is greatly appreciated

Never mind. The wiring is common for all security systems and it looks like I can get the answers on the type of wiring.

If you are using eol resistors, then all systems don't use the same wiring.

Elk uses 2200 ohm resistors, others use different.

For elk at least, you should home run cat5 or 6 wire to all of your proposed keypad locations

You don't have to hard wire all of your doors and windows.  You could do wireless, but if the walls are open, it is better to hard wire.  It is cheaper (but is more work). Wireless needs new batteries and why deal with potential rf problems when you don't have to.  Also, there are more choices in wired ones and mostly they are smaller.

Lou Apo said:
If you are using eol resistors, then all systems don't use the same wiring.

Elk uses 2200 ohm resistors, others use different.

For elk at least, you should home run cat5 or 6 wire to all of your proposed keypad locations