Help select a protocol for a DIYer

Ricoware

Hi guys,

Years ago I used X10 via Firecracker module to control my reef tank. It wasn't very reliable though, and that was in a newly built house (at the time, ~2001). I've moved since then, and my new house was built in the early 70's so the wiring is even sketchier. Also, my server has been upgraded since then and the new box doesn't have a serial port on it.

I'd like to get started automating my house, so I've been Googling for the past few days... the number of choices available now are kind of overwhelming, but the information available to a DIYer is pretty underwhelming. I'm a professional software developer, and hobbyist electronics hacker.

What I would like is a home automation platform that is reliable, isn't dependent on any existing infrastructure unless it is capable of overcoming existing deficiencies, and has a simple interface to a computer with a well documented API or protocol. I have IPCams and a weather station that I can hook into for data.

I don't want a box with embedded web service and control software, I want to do that part myself using my existing server and self-written software.

I would like to control:
- Room lights
- A/C (furnace and central air)
- Outlets (not lamps, actual grounded outlets)
- Irrigation (8 ports is plenty)

I would like sensors for:
- Garage door open or closed state
- Motion detection on driveway or front walk
- Occupancy state for various rooms in the house
- In the future I'd like to add security features like door locks, doors open/closed, etc.

Can anyone give me some suggestions on a platform that can provide all or most of the above requirements? The most important piece to this puzzle is the PC connection to the platform. It should be USB, but I could add a serial card to the server if absolutely necessary. Without a simple PC interface, I'm not sure I'm willing to go any further.

Thanks!
Rich