Home Sureillance Camera - what all is needed?

klopper22

Hi. I am new to the forum and a novice at home security. At this point we have no system or cameras. I have a neigbor who I think is throwing bags of dog shit and trash in our back yard and I want to be able to prove it.

I'm looking into setting up one simple surveillance camera which could maybe record to my computer. I need visual ONLY. Night vision would be a plus but not necessary.

What all do I need to set this up?

Welcome to CocoonTech! This is a great place to learn about automation, security, etc. Plus, the members here couldn't be nicer and more helpful.

I'm just learning about surveillance cameras myself, and besides here, I've found CCTV Forum to be a lot of help.

Good luck,

Kevin

The biggest thins in setting up a home CCTV system is budget IMHO.

Once you decide what you are willing to spend you can then decide on the 4 camera out of the box recorder/monitor for a couple of hundred bucks or the several hundred dollars per camera and several hundred to several thousand dollars for recording equipment. CCTVForum is a great resource.

If you are looking to go to your PC you may want to look into Geovision capture cards or a similar type of device.

Also, you may want to simply invest in a deer watching style camera that you can hid out back. They have IR illumination built in usually and can take several snapshots and might just get you what you are looking for. They are usually motion activated. You just have to keep up with the batteries. Check Cabellas, I think they have several models. You could hide one or two near a bush or something like that.

Good luck catching the Ba$t@rd.

edit : here are some links:

http://www.whitetaildeer-management-and-hu...ra-reviews.html

http://trailcam.com/