New to HA

susanc

Hi! I am new to HA. My husband and I are building a new house and I want to add HA to the house. I am an instrumentation engineer, so I am very familiar with sensors, etc. but not sure where to start with the HA.

I want to use hand held controllers, like the Nokia N800s or something slick like that, and I assume I need a back end server to support it. What control sw should I use? I was thinking Z-Wave or Zigbee type sensors but it would be good to get control software that supports mulitple platforms.

How do security systems fit into home automation systems?

Is there a good book I should read?

Any help is appreciated!

The good news is that there's many choices to pick from. I'm sure people will chime in with their particular favorites, the top ones are:
- CQC (I use this, can answer questions about it, not so much for the others)
- MainLobby
- HomeSeer
- vCrib is up&coming & freeware to booot.

I don't personally like N800's, but there's many folks that do with the above packages.

No good books exist, but i wrote up part of my guide here.

Security systems like the Elk integrate by telling your HA system what happened, where (ie, this door or window opened, motion in this room, etc). Then you can do what you want. I do stuff like:
- When armed into ArmAway mode, turn off all lights/stereos/turn down HVAC/etc.
- When armed into ArmStay mode, turn on the outer door maglocks.
- If motion in the entry, turn on light
- If closet opened, turn on light. If the door isn't closed in 15mins, turn off light.
- Use keyfobs like this to have the system turn on the lights when you press the button.

And many many other options.