Replacing old smoke detectors

BobS0327

I currently have a Leviton/HAI Omni Pro 2 controller.  There are eight very old System Sensor 2112/24TS smoke detectors connected to the OP2 controller. All of the System Sensor smoke detectors are about 12 years old.  Thus, the age is the reason why I'm replacing them.  IIRC, smoke detectors have to be replaced every ten years.

I have eight new DSC FSA-410 Series smoke detectors.  So, my question is, are these new DSC smoke detectors a direct replacement for the old System Sensor smoke detectors?  Or do I have to make any type of wiring adjustments?  Both the old and new smoke detectors are four wire detectors. And if memory serves me correctly, the System Sensors have a EOL power supervision relay installed, part # A77-716 12/24V.  So, should I replace the old relay with a DSC RM-2 End Of Line Pwr Supervison Relay For 4Wire Smoke Detectors.

I'm a DIYer not a professional installer.  So, the last time I wired the smoke detectors was 12 years ago. 

Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

Personally I was never a fan of the DSC FSA smokes.....hell, they had a huge recall a few years back where they discovered the units wouldn't even alarm in an actual alarm.

They're technically a bolt in, however DSC uses a switched negative and SS uses a switched positive. Nature of how the manufacturers and locales they come from have standards.

The supervision relay is fine to leave and reuse. You'd need to see how you're resetting the power to the devices at the panel, either switching the negative or positive and adjust accordingly.

Thanx for the info.  I sorta figured the DSC would be a  direct replacement  for the old smoke detector.  But being a DIYer, I thought I would just double check.