General questions on new home automation setup

I have a setup which has all masters and one of three two way switches is high wattage (1000 Watts for the Chandelier). The other two are normal. (Insteon) but similiar. The two other switches are linked to the higher wattage switch but are not directly connected. The 3rd traveler wires are just capped from the old switch. I have a few set up in this fashion. The electrician in this house put in a switch for the second floor hallway lighting next to each door of every bedroom. Same for the kitchen having a light switch by every entrance. He also put in double boxes with single box mudplates in. A bedroom will have separate overhead fan, light and a switch (for the right side of all of the outlets in the room). I separated out the switch carving out the single duplex mudplate and installing a larger mudplate for two switches.

Whats nice about the new powerline is that you can do virtual 3-way lighting versus conventional with a traveler wire. It would be confusing though for an electrician checking and wondering how maybe three light switches talk to each other without a traveler.

That brings up a question I was going to ask. how do you know what wattage to get for your switches?

Well, what is the total load you are switching? If it is a light just add up the lightbulbs.

I can't speak to UPB or Z-wave, but Insteon comes in 600W and 1000W flavors. If I was above 500 watts, I'd go with the 1000, just to be on the safe side.

Mostly it is an issue if you are turning on a hot tub or something. I would think situations with more than 600W of lights on one switch are unusual.

Edit: Lol, you have made almost as many posts in two days as I have in two years! Well done. :+D There is something to be said for lurking and reading old posts, you know.

Brian

k, it shouldn't be an issue then because most, if not all, of my lightbulbs are the energy ones, so they are like 8 watt each :)