Introduction - Northern VA

viroid

Hi folks,

My name is Chris, I work full-time in the IT industry and also volunteer with a fire department, rescue squad, and search and rescue group.

I've always been interested in home automation and have kept up on the technology side of things for the past decade or so.  Recently though,  I've spent a lot of time catching up on the 'details', trying to figure out what system(s) I would want to install now that I have a house.  I believe I've settled on a HAI OmniPro II to start with, still unsure about which HA system I'll stand up in addition to the OPII, but I should be able to get by for a little while with just the OPII while I work on renovating the electrical system and installing the low-voltage system throughout the house.

The house is a recently purchased brick cape cod (2 story, unfinished basement) in a small town in northern Virginia about an hour and a half west of Washington D.C., I'm rather excited about all the 'stuff' I can do since I'll be completely renovating the house.  It was built in 1945, and everything is dated; fortunately the structure (with the exception of the old 4x4s holding up the main beam in the basement) is in excellent condition.  I'm planning to replace the old warped and rotted 4x4s with pressure treated 6x6s and then move on to some fun stuff like completely replacing the electrical and plumbing systems before the house burns down or I spring a leak.

I'm happy to answer any questions you might have on networking, and or IT in general.

...v

Welcome v.  I'm also in the IT industry but there is a nice mix of people with varying backgrounds and interests that in my opinion help make this a great forum.  This varied background also reflects in some of the diverse discussions that take place.

Regarding a "system", I also decided I will purchase an Omnipro II at some point in the future, primarily due to flexibility in whole home A/V although Elk is a great system too.