What size speakers?

kimvi

I have 2 bedrooms, 16x16x10, that I was thinking of putting in-wall speakers. I planned on putting in 8" In-wall speakers at about 4' off the ground. I was about the buy the speaker brackets and decided to ask the enthusiasts on the board before placing the order.

1. Is this overkill? Would 6.5" speakers be just as good in a room this size?
2. How would you configure this room?

It depends on your listening preferences, but to me, even the 8" won't be sufficient except for background music.

There isn't a huge difference between 8" and 6.5" speakers for music reproduction - generally the 6.5" are slightly cleaner since they aren't trying to reproduce significant bass.

My personal opinion (and what I always do)... include a small subwoofer. I have no experience with in-wall subs, I usually just buy a small sub and hide it on the side of a couch or dresser, etc. For music only, you don't need a huge sub, most small ones work wonders. I always buy powered subs, but passive might work as well if you have enough amp power.

Wiring is a little different with a sub. Most subs accept speaker level input (a requirement I always look for) so I wire from the amp, to the sub, and then to each speaker location.

As for how to orient the room - first requirement is wiring accessability. If there are no restrictions, then I generally try to orient it so stereo sounds right based on your common listening postion. If you listen in bed, have speakers in front of you, etc.

Good luck!

I just finished installing speakers for my whole house audio system. For larger rooms > 14x14, I installed at 8" ceiling speakers. In smaller bedrooms, I used 6.5" ceiling speakers. In great rooms, I installed multiple 8" speakers.